|
|
|
-
domain name sale?
What would you think if someone sent you a note asking to purchase your domain name? I received such a note today. It would make some sense to me if I shared and/or were using the name of some famous person, but I'm not. Is this some kind of scam I'm unaware of? Thanks.
-
 Originally Posted by NER
What would you think if someone sent you a note asking to purchase your domain name? I received such a note today. It would make some sense to me if I shared and/or were using the name of some famous person, but I'm not. Is this some kind of scam I'm unaware of? Thanks.
I don't know what the scam is, but it seems fishy. I've received similar offers for mine, but when I've written back, I've gotten no answer. I suspect it's some automated message looking for a domain name with some commercial value that they're trying to score for cheap.
Kerik
www.kerik.com
-
Is it another photographer named Norman Riley (presuming they want to buy "normanrileyphotography.com")? If not, I would guess it's some sort of scam. If it is another Norman Riley, I'd ask how much he is willing to pay and consider how much it's worth to you.
-
It really is pretty common for people to solicit to purchase doman names, we are the registar on over 100 domain names, for us and our customers, so on average get two or three emails a we, asking if we are interested in selling one or another one of the domains, it is just another form of prospecting.
I own a domain name of dodgeoutfitters.com and get around ten requests a week to see if I am interested in selling it.
Dave
-
Hi Kerik. Long time no chat. Thanks for the quick response. It seems fishy to me too. I'll see if I get a reply from "person" sending the note: I wrote back asking why he wants it.
-
Sponsored Ad. (Subscribers to APUG have the option to remove this ad.)
-
David's idea occurred to me. But what are the odds of that? The name on the note was "Richard Hall." He (assuming it's not automated) didn't say that he's affiliated with any company or representing someone sharing the name "Norman Riley" who also happens to be a photographer looking to establish a website. It seems very strange to me.
-
 Originally Posted by NER
David's idea occurred to me. But what are the odds of that? The name on the note was "Richard Hall." He (assuming it's not automated) didn't say that he's affiliated with any company or representing someone sharing the name "Norman Riley" who also happens to be a photographer looking to establish a website. It seems very strange to me.
We got one from him today too as did our associates at Fotoimpex in Germany.
-
 Originally Posted by heebakutty
Zippozap appraisal of apug.org: $65.
-
-
So is there a website to calculate the value of a revived thread that's been dormant for 6 years? 
Lee
|
|