Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,566   Posts: 1,545,380   Online: 1026

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

dry mount video demonstration

Greetings!

I just wanted to share something I recorded earlier when mounting 10 prints for a project I had been working on. I don't own one of those snazzy dry mount press devices so I used an iron, I figured someone might be able to use the information so I made it available.

the video is 14minutes 55 seconds (yes its kind of long!) and I think it describes how I dry mount a print quite well

there are streams that I believe work on 56k as well as high speed connections

it is available on my website at http://www.depressing.org/archives/2...-mounting.html

understand i am no expert at this, i am not a conservator but it seems to work for me!

Last edited by David A. Goldfarb; 09-28-2007 at 06:51 AM. Click to view previous post history. Reason: URL updated by poster request
    "Where is beauty? Where I must will with my whole Will; where I will love and perish, that an image may not remain merely an image."

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hi Christopher,

I was just about to take a whole bunch of 8x10 prints over to be dry mounted but after viewing your video I'm going to give it a go with the old home iron. Great music score by the way. Two thumbs up!

Thanks

Eric

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I've used almost the identical method for 30-years. Prints I mounted this way in the mid-70s are still firmly stuck to the mat, so it's a process that's successful over time, too.
    juan

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I did my first drymounting, with an iron, last week and am looking forward to seeing your technique. I had a bit of trouble with the mount board warping (not dry enough?).

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images