Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,294   Posts: 1,535,487   Online: 1042

Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Images

Website problems

I am just getting started with my 8x20 and printing on AZO paper. The problem comes when i want to scan the 8x20 azo prints to the my website or to the APUG site. No scanners cover 20". I have heard that you can scan the print into to parts and stitch the parts of the print together after scanning.

I know this is a analog group. but I also know many of you work in larger than 8x10 format. Can anyone help me here or if you do not what to cover it on this site you could just e-mail me.

thank you for your time

Michael Andersen
    "Capturing an image is only one step of the long chain of events to create a beautiful Photograph” See my updated website: mandersenphotography.com

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Hi Michael

I'm probably not 100% qualified to say this, but your problem is the same as mine in regards to my prints being too large for my scanner. After researching both on APUG and elswhere, I'm afraid that I had to force myself to buy a cheep d**i**l camera. Yes, I know what your thinking and so did I, but apparently it's the done thing!

I finally made my mind up after reading an article by a photographer called Bob Herbst. (www.bobherbst.com) who photographs all his Platinum prints for his webb site with, in his words, using a d**i**l camera and a very crude lighting set up.

He went on to say that the camera should be no less than 3.1 mp for webb work and at least 5 to 6 mp for submitting work to galleries. His photographs look very beautiful on his webb site and certainly made my mind up for me to do the same.

I hope this helps and I think you will find that there are many more APUGers doing the same.

Regards

Stoo Batchelor

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images