Switch to English Language Passer en langue franaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,501   Posts: 1,543,348   Online: 861

Shooter
    35mm

B&W negative storage in slide mounts???

Im only a beginner with darkroom work, and am looking for some advice on storing negatives. Previously I had bought some sleeves that hold strips of 6 35mm negatives, but I feel Id like to protect them better and also reduce the number of negatives I keep. Rather than keeping the whole role of film I shoot, I was thinking about sorting out the keepers and cutting them into single negatives. After that insert them into slide mounts, and put them into slide mount sleeves. Then Id have one negative per slot, and theyd be well stored and available to print long into the future.

So here are my questions about it. What are your options on this storage method for b&w negatives? Is it possible for me to remove these negatives from the slide mounts (without damage) for when I want to enlarge them and make new prints, or better, is there a way to keep them in the slide mounts and enlarge them for printing? I noticed some of the slide mounts have anti newton ring glass or no glass at all. From what I understand some of the slide mounts need a mounting device, but others seem to clip together without a mounting device, am I correct in this assumption?

Keep in mind Ill be using these to store b&w films, and do plan on using the films for further enlarging and printing in the future. Any advice or about this or other storage suggestions are welcomed.

Thanks,
    Martin

Shooter
    35mm
    I would think that is a good idea. I would recommend glass mounts. Perhaps the variety that has AN glass on one side would be best. You might consider doing this right away and buying or making a holder for your enlarger that allows you to use these mounts.