Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,581   Posts: 1,545,766   Online: 1071

I've been mounting color prints using Seal press and colormount tissue. I mount on foam board. Initially mounted prints look good. But after about 6 months some of them developed bubbles. What is the way to avoid this?

Shooter
    Large Format
    Boris,
    The things that I would check are the temperature of the press and the pressure of the platen when it closes (clamps down) on the work. I don't know of a published criteria on pressure. The platen must clamp down on the work securely. The pressure on my press is such that I could not move a piece of 4 ply mat board when it is inserted and clamped down.

I use colormount tissue on my fiber prints (not recommended I know) but I have been doing it for over 20 years. This tissue is supposed to work best at 190-200 degrees. I have mounted on foamcore at one time and I did not have the problem you mention, so I doubt that foamcore is the problem.

I don't know which Seal press that you have. On my 210 M the platen does have an adjustment for clamping pressure (the two round protrusions that pass through the cross bar).

I hope that this helps. Good luck.
    Art is a step from what is obvious and well-known toward what is arcane and concealed.

Visit my website at http://www.donaldmillerphotography.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    How long are you leaving the print in the press? I had similar problems many years ago and cured it by leaving the print in the press for about 3 minutes. Any dampness in the board before you start mounting the print can also cause problems.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Dampness in the board can be cured by cooking it in the press for 5 minutes before mounting the print on it. Fiber prints may need the same treatment too.

ann

Shooter
    35mm
    Images