Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,549   Posts: 1,544,624   Online: 725

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Educating Clients on Value of Unique Film Portraiture

Hi,

I'm a diehard medium-format film photographer of people in the San Francisco Bay Area. Ten years ago I was in the higher-end market among photographers. I left photography for a corporate job and just returned to again this year to a much different climate. I can't believe how crowded the photography market has become with the digital age, nor can I believe how many digital portrait photographers are willing to give their work away for pennies. My work with clients is very time-consuming and expensive, as you film-folks well know. I don't make money on my sittings--rather, I charge for my prints ($200 and up depending on size of image).

I'm seeing a lot of visually pleasing portrait work out there done by digital photographers, but the images from website to website seem very homogenous. And quite altered with Photoshop.

I'm a firm believer in the value of slow photography and the beauty of the details in reality. I'm finding myself in a professional world so different from what everyone else is doing that I don't know if I'm becoming more special and valuable or simply insignficant and unmarketable. I'm not willing to do my work for less money.

Those of you selling film portrait work to a higher-end market--how do you talk about your work to clients? How do you convey the value of what you do? And where do you the see the future for us?

Thanks for reading this if you made it this far!

Johannah Sentenn
    www.johannahsentenn.com

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images