Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,545   Posts: 1,544,490   Online: 1104

Shooter
    35mm

Need advice for mounting and framing

Hi there,
    I have printed one of my photos on 11x14 paper, with very little white border. I've tried it in store-bought frame that is 16x20 with matte cut to 11x14, and it works (just barely). I can't afford custom framing/matting at the moment, as I am a student and saving for a trip.

Once I get the photo dry mounted, how do I put it in the frame? Should I use some adhesive to attach it to the mount?

For future reference, with more financial resources, how would you suggest I go about this?

Thank you,
    Conan

DLM
    Shooter
    35mm
    What I would do, is not even worry about dry mounting. You can get linen tape, or if it's just for yourself, you can use artist's tape (it's like masking tape, but the adhesive isn't as strong) and just make a "T" mount to attach the photo to the backing board. Then just put that behind your mat. I assume your mat has a bit of an overlap on an 11x14, so the mat will hold the print flat.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I like my pictures to be dry mounted.
    -What I do is dry mount on foamcore with just a bit more than the matte size extra.
    -I place the matte over the picture, carefully aligning it to the image, as I want it.
    -I trace around the outside of the matte, with a pencil on the foamcore.
    -Cut the foamcore to size
    -Apply a bit of ATG or thin double sided tape to the top of the matte to hold it in place on the foamcore while you put the picture together in the frame.
    The frame will hold the whole shebang together very well...and it looks very professional.

fdi
    Shooter
    35mm