Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,970   Posts: 1,523,509   Online: 813

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Careers in Analog Photography

Hello! I'm new to this...so I'm not sure if i'm posting this in the right spot! Anyways, Analog Photography is my passion and I don't want to give it up for digital. However, I do want a career in photography...so does that mean I have to give up analog? Is there any sort of career for analog photographers? If anybody has any ideas of what I could do, please let me know. Thank you.
    -katelynn

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Get a career in another field that you are passionate about. That will save you from struggling to earn a livelihood from photography. Instead photography will always be a joy for you and never a chore.

Steve
    Warning!! Handling a Hasselblad can be harmful to your financial well being!

Nothing beats a great piece of glass!

I leave the digital work for the urologists and proctologists.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    katelynn:

1st, welcome to APUG.

2nd, there are photographers who make their entire living using analogue materials, but I'm sure that none of them will tell you that it is easy.

If you would like an example, I'd suggest looking at Cheryl Jacobs Nicolai, who posts here as Cheryl Jacobs.

The extremely friendly () opening page of her portrait website can be found here:

http://www.cheryljacobsportraits.com/

You should be sure to remember that there are many types of photographic careers, not just the one that Cheryl has chosen.

Oh, and Steve's comment is also valid as well.
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”