Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,518   Posts: 1,543,761   Online: 857

Shooter
    35mm

Sorting Out Photos?

I have been shooting film for a few years now, on an amateur level, most recently with an Agfa Rangefinder. I would describe my style as a mix of art and travel, taking photos rather sparingly in general (36 images on one trip or over 2-3months at home).

I have now reached the point where I seem to have collected a fair amount of photographs. I value a large amount of my photos and am quite vigilant about keeping them ordered and complete. However, I now feel that many of my photos are superfluous(15%?), being the less successful images that are blurry, obstructed, over/underexposed etc. I seem to have kept them a) for completeness' sake and b) for the sake of art, and the thought that they may one day render useful/interesting (I am quite a hoarder). However when I look through my photos now these images become rather annoying as I flick past them in search of my more successful images. I feel like I should throw them away, but I fear I may regret this in the future? Perhaps sort them out and store them separately?

I would greatly appreciate any personal opinions and suggestions as I am completely stuck on what to do!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Hello and welcome to APUG. Separate your good images from your not-so-good ones. You can keep all your photos, just show your better ones. Use your other ones as learning tools.

Mike

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    What a great topic. All I can tell you is what I do.

I keep just about everything. When I get a big stack of stuff, I spread them on the dining table and crack a beer.