Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,708   Posts: 1,548,578   Online: 1163

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Gallery commission question

I have a couple photos in a show coming up in October. It's my first time hanging anything in a gallery (yay!) so I was curious about customary practices with commission.

This is a mixed media show and most pieces are going to be paintings, 3D works, etc that are one-off works. I have two framed photos I'm turning over to the gallery and they'll obviously take their commission from those if they sell. What if someone wants one after the intial ones sell? We'll have an area for business cards, so does that imply that someone would use my contact info and thus be an outside sale (ie. no commission?) I'm just not sure how that usually works.

Thanks for your help! You guys have been my go-to source for everything photographic for a while now and have certainly been a big help getting into this show. I certainly appreciate it :-)

Chris
    Last edited by f/stopblues; 09-17-2011 at 11:04 PM. Click to view previous post history. Reason: typo
    "Technology is a big destroyer of emotion and truth. Opportunity doesn't do anything for creativity. Yeah, it makes it easier and you can get home sooner, but it doesn't make you a more creative person. That's the disease you have to fight in any creative field.. ease of use." - Jack White

Shooter
    Multi Format
    All of the galleries in my town will charge the same commission on sales that result from the work being on display in that gallery up to 30 days after the work has been taken off display. They don't want you end-running the gallery and shorting them the commission for their work promoting your art.

There should be a clause to that effect right in the consignment contract.
    Randy S.

In girum imus nocte et consumimur igni.

-----