Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,534   Posts: 1,544,052   Online: 1126

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: DSLR Metering?

Shooter
    Multi Format

DSLR Metering?

Hi all,
    I'm new to the whole world of large format, ive been doing digital and 35mm for about 4 years now and I've decided to challenge myself some more. As of right now I do not own a light meter, I probably haven't looked into how to determine exposure with 4x5 enough yet, but i was just wondering, can i use my DSLR (nikon d60) and set it up with the same f/stop and focal length and iso/asa right next to my 4x5 camera and get an exposure like that? or would it make more sense to actually try and mount my D60 onto the back of my 4x5? I think that way I could get an instant result of if I develop everything right what the print could eventually look like. Right? if not please let me know, any suggestion on quick ways to determine exposure, or if i should just go and buy a light meter would be a great help.

Thanks much!
    -E.Jensen

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    You could use it for a rough guesstimate but considering the time and expense that goes into LF shooting you might as well bite the bullet and get a good spot meter now.

When I was green I once did a studio shoot with chromes alongside digi and used the digital camera meters setting for the film camera.
    When the film came back I was screwed because the dslr ISO settings (Canon) did not equal the true ISO standard.
    The Provia was all over exposed by about ⅔ to a full stop.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images