Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,766   Posts: 1,484,136   Online: 848

Shooter
    Medium Format

Experience with star trails

I'm going to be headed to Utah soon to hit some national parks, and I like to try some star trails. I'm going to shooting on Provia 100F. I did some research on the net and repeatedly came across exposure suggestions of f/5.6 - f/8 for 2 hours or more. I'm just looking for some advice about exposure from someone experienced with star trails. I'll be there during a new moon. One of the places I'll be visiting is Natural Bridges which is supposed to be a very dark area. Would it be better to open up the lens to say f/4 or even 2.8 since this is such a dark area? Thanks

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I am not an expert on star trails. However I did some before. From what I remember f/5.6 - f/8 for 2 hours is not enough. I used C41 Reala probably at f2 for about 3 hours, and you got something like this.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Nothern Stars 800.jpg 
Views:	94 
Size:	482.4 KB 
ID:	55494
    - Derek
    Looking for a parts prism for the Minolta XE / XE 7.

Shooter
    Multi Format