Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,499   Posts: 1,543,210   Online: 1052

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Got a natural ligt studio! Need inspiration on what to do

I have never used a studio before. But I have one in our new house! It is a large room with a big north facing window built by an artist 1950. We will use the room for different things, like playing music, sewing sails, Scalextric etc. But me and the kids really would like to use it as a photo studio as well.

I want to do portraits and maybe some still life with my 4x5 and 8x10. Shutterless lenses, so slow film, nd-filters and maybe some way to block out the light with curtains?

I would really like to get some inspiration on how to use and direct the light.

What about backgrounds? Are there some classic old texts I should read on the subject? Maybe I should even get some old furniture and props? I am tempted to also get an old studio camera.

I hope I put this in the correct forum.

/matti

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Get a still life photo workshop type book, and work your way through it.

Nothing will build more skill at carefully reading the light and attuning your eye to it's nuances of shape and shadow as they record on film.

With still life the output of an image is wholly the photographers responsibility.

If you want to see what is posible with natural light and plain backgrounds, look up 'Disfarmer' , a midwest US turn of the centrury photographer.
    my real name, imagine that.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I'm certainly no expert but I've just started reading "Light Science and Magic." I'm only on the second chapter but feel like I've learned a lot. I would recommend picking up a copy and working through it.

http://www.amazon.com/Light-Science-...ience+of+light
    --
    Kenton Brede
    http://kentonbrede.com/