Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,542   Posts: 1,572,821   Online: 979

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Beginner's question: 35mm colour film pictures turn out very dull

Hiya,

I'm very new to film photography and have only developed a few 35mm colour film rolls shot with an Olympus XA. The first two roles turned out lovely, I had them developed at Jessops. With Jessops closing down I brought another colour roll to some Kodak Express shop (£12 a roll, geez!!) but they all turned out very grey-ish and dull.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	34880026.JPG 
Views:	113 
Size:	451.6 KB 
ID:	65189

I know there are probably dozens of reasons how this can happen, but is there maybe a common mistake that causes this dullness? I had a look on google but couldn't really find anything about it. Or can this come from developing the pictures wrongly? I could more or less fix them in photoshop but then that's not really the point of analog photography...

Also, are there any shops you can recommend for developing films in the UK?

Cheers!
    Last edited by rookie; 03-04-2013 at 09:49 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    You need a new lab. Quality = cost. I'd find whatever your country's equivalent to Richard Photo Lab is.

I don't know who scanned this for you, but it is just abysmal. God knows what the chemistry looked like.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Are you showing us scans of the prints they made, or are these scans the lab made? I ask because bad scanning can cause the muddy look. It can also be caused by underexposure (your fault) or underdevelopment, or bad chemicals (lab's fault). The dust is a matter of the lab keeping things clean, which they didn't do well!
    Chris Crawford
    Fine Art Photography of Indiana and other places no one else photographs.

http://www.chriscrawfordphoto.com