Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,206   Posts: 1,531,853   Online: 942

Shooter
    Multi Format

Analog photography and Filters

New-ish to analog photography after some time shooting digital. The way I see it so far, honestly unless companies just stop making film and all labs just stop processing E-6 etc. I cannot see myself returning to digital in this lifetime. Do not really care about the next one at this point...

Anyway since I am a sucker for great looking landscapes I put together I nice enough collection of filters and the necessary accessories to go with. Below a brief list:

• Lee foundation kit and wide-angle adapters
    • Hitech ND set 1-2-3 stops
    • Hitech ND grad set (soft) 1-2-3 stops
    • Hitech 10-stop filter
    • Lee filter holder pouch

Obviously the total amount spent is substantial, at least IMO. I am new to analog photography so I am not sure whether I would still need all the above. I mean probably the ND set could still be useful, blurring waters, removing people, streaking clouds etc. but I am not so sure about the ND grad set. Have mostly used it on sunsets but since the overall DR of film is much larger than any sensor's ability I do not know if I would still need them.

Thanks in advance.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I wish I had a filter to remove people. It would stay screwed on the camera!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    well, a long enough exposure can blur people out, something like a Big Stopper or something can get you 30-second exposures.