Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,930   Posts: 1,585,398   Online: 1020

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Exposure for night photography (from a noob)

Hi all,

I would like to capture atmosphere of very dark corners of the streets of my town at night.

I want to exclude direct street light as a light source. I want to catch diffuse reflected light from windows, far lamps and sky.

My problem is that I have very little experience with it.

Can somebody tell me what exposure, blende and film I should use. If you can provide a link or give me some start position for it.
    Should I have to keep exposure 1 sec, 1 min or 1 hour?

Thanks

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Color or B&W ?
    Handheld or tripod ?
    Lee Frost did a really good book on Night and lowlight photography that will guide you a long way into it.
    I used to use slow slidefilm ISO 100 and tripod. I measured the light at fastest f-stop and counted dovn from that since the Olympus OM-1 I had then couldn't do it otherwise. I bracketed my shots on the + side because of the Schwarzschild effect (reciprocity failure) and found that it is difficult to overexpose night shots.
    Cheers Søren
    Send from my Electronic Data Management Device using TWOFingerTexting

Technology distinquishable from magic is insufficiently developed

Søren Nielsen
    Denmark

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Huh, I didnt knew that I dont know soo much.

Ok... I will use tripod, and wish to try B&W and Color too. Prints do with machine at some photo shop.
    I have handheld light meter, but it works only at day. I have pretty old Canon with 50mm lens.

About your folowing text I didnt understand a thing, maybe because Im using very old equipment.

I was thinking to buy one slidefilm 100 ASA and experiment with exposure, but I wish to learn as much as I can this way.