Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,228   Posts: 1,532,728   Online: 834

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Zone system question

I’m quite new in using a view camera and was reading a lot about the zone system lately. I think I understand the main principle and advantages of the system (placing values in different shades of grey, compacting and expanding opacity range of the negative at will…..)
    There is the part about choosing an exposure when applying the zone system I thought of asking you. I think the best I would explain my question is by the example…..

Let’s say I have a sun filled, contrasty scene in front of me. Ideally, I’d like to preserve both shadows and highlights. Pointing meter at both tells me that this is too much for the negative to record properly. I would know that I have to compact the zones, so I would chose to overexpose by 2 stops and give less development to the negative later, right?
    My question is, which exposure time to choose for a scene like this, would it be the shadows placed on zone II plus 2 stops, or an average between shadows and highlights metering, plus 2 stops?
    Knowing this would help me a lot as I’m heading out soon with my camera.

Thanks.

Shooter
    Large Format
    You are correct in your assumptions with the exception you would place the shadows in Zone III plus 2 stops.

If you want to do a more accurate methodology I suggest you give the BTZS (Beyond the zone system) a try, it is a far more powerful method for expusre/development.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Quote Originally Posted by metod