Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,579   Posts: 1,545,751   Online: 1021

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Images
    lately, several people have asked me how to "use their new cameras" to take better photos. I have attempted to explain the relationship between shutter speed, F-Stop, and Film Speed to no avail. I have realized that I am a better photographer than teacher (which isn't saying much&#33. Do any of you Apuggers know of a site on the web, or have a handout that explains this all important relationship in plain english?
    hi!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Use the sunburn thing for film speed too. Faster film burns fast, just like blue eyed, blond haired, fair skinned people. Slow film burns slower like dark haired, dark skinned people.

Images
    I'm looking for more along the lines of caculating exposure. Such as F8 at 125 is the same exposure as F11 @ 1/60, etc.
    hi!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Shooter
    Large Format
    Brian,
    The way that I relate exposure to people is to explain that a given film will require a given "quantity" of light to expose it. There are in photography two different "controls" to affect this quantity of light. The first is the size of the aperature or "opening" through which the light passes. The second is the length of time that the opening is open "Shutter speed".
    The important thing to remember is that the measurement of apertures and of shutter speed is a ratio of doubles and halves. Thus if one reduces the opening by one half the offsetting factor would be to allow the opening to be open twice as long. This effectively gives the same quantity of light. Conversely if one opens the opening by twice as large, then the offsetting factor would be to allow the opening to be open only one half as long.