Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,953   Posts: 1,586,005   Online: 772

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Hi,

one of my photography teachers told us a story that I thought was a bit of overkill as far as exposure goes. He said he was taking an interior of a church so it was a long exposure, over half an hour, so they worked out the L & D curve or such and worked out the exposure from that. Wouldn't it be quicker to look at the reciprocity of the film and go from there. Being a student I've been working with a few pro photographers and most just take a reading, shoot and bracket, with regard to v high or v low tones. Hell, some pros said after school no one cares about sensitometry ! He is a ditherey old guy but we just can't work out why go so far.......

ta Ade

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Shooter
    Large Format
    hmm..a small correction they are called H&D curves. But more importantly I wish someone would explain to me how they can calculate a 30 minute exposure from an H&D curve unless they made a family of curves specifically for long exposures.

An H&D curve is used to represent tonal and exposure relationships at NORMAL times and from what I have studied and read it is impossible to correlate a timed exposure this long to a published H&D curve made with normal times. Perhaps he was talking about development of the film, given an exposure which records the minimal detail it is possible to "guesstimate" the development time.

I could be wrong, but as you have explained it, I dont think it is possible to do this.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    I agree with Jorge on this one. It sounds like the old guy was spinning a good yarn to elevate his position as grand wizard in the eyes of his students. I've actually heard this story told by someone else once, but I politely only sneezed "bullshit" at the end of it.