Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,840   Posts: 1,582,540   Online: 1023

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Linear Polarizer less effective than Circular Polarizer

I have in my possession a couple of Tiffen linear polarizers, and a couple of Tiffen circular polarizers. Having been frustrated recently by not having enough neutral density to shoot some waterfalls the way I wanted to, I started playing around with the idea of making a variable neutral density filter with the polarizers.

Regardless of whether that's a good idea or not, I made a significant (to me) discovery. The CP's that I own are more effective at killing reflections (and get darker when crossed) than the LP's.

Now, my understanding of how a CP works says that the 1/4-wave retarder behind the polarizer should not affect the image through the filter, so this would suggest that a different polarizing film is being used in the CP's vs. the LP's, or that they have started using a different (less effective) film across the line, since the LP's are brand new, but the CP's are 5-7 years old.

Here's what I saw...

LP Reflection (1/15s f/4.0):

CP Reflection (1/15s f/4.0):

LP Crossed (1/6s f/2.8)

CP Crossed (1/6s f/2.8)

Does anyone have thoughts on this, or any explanation for why this is the case?

Something to keep in mind if you start to feel like your LP's aren't quite cutting the reflections as much as you think they should.

--Greg

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Your own explanation will be (partly) correct: different polarizing foil.

Partly, because the same less effective foil could also be used in circular polarizers, the better also in linear polarizers.

How did you cross the circular polarizers?