Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,558   Posts: 1,545,237   Online: 873

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

FP4; long exposure + extreme pull

Any tips for compensating development with FP4 used in long exposures? I am trying to get barely printable detail in window drapes that I exposed four stops above middle grey. This put the darker parts of the drapes at two stops above middle grey.

I chose FP4 because I love the way it handles highlights. Film was rated at 100. The meter was a Pentax Digital Spotmeter.

However, I have no real experience with this film in long exposures, so I am asking for you all's experience to help me out.

Bright part of curtain: EV 9 and one dot
    Darker part of curtain: EV 7 and one dot

I made the exposure as if EV 5 and one dot was middle grey.

I want a silhouette of the edges of the grand piano, with the tiniest amount of low-toned sheen on the curves and on the wooden floor of the stage. No detail in the blacks is desired (though if a little ends up there, it is no big deal); just that slight sheen on around zone II-III.

My indicated exposure for f/22 was 8 seconds plus two dots.

I made exposures at:

f/22 at 1 minute, 4 seconds
    f/22 at 32 seconds
    f/22 at 16 seconds
    f/22 at 8 seconds (just to see how bad I would end up if I used the indicated exposure)
    f/16 at 8 seconds
    f/16 at 16 seconds
    f/32 at 32 seconds
    f/32 at 1 minute, 4 seconds

I shot a lot, since I was unsure of myself regarding reciprocity failure. I shot at various apertures because I was interested in examining the D of F I get with this lens when shooting from far away. Normally, I am shooting up close with it.

Camera was a 4x5 with a 360mm lens on a DB shutter from about 35 feet away.

Thank you in advance!
    Last edited by 2F/2F; 07-30-2009 at 08:07 PM. Click to view previous post history.
    2F/2F