Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,295   Posts: 1,535,658   Online: 1116

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm

New to analog photography - Under exposed problems (See my photos)

Hello guys !!!

I'm new to analog photography.

I bought a 1984 Minolta X-570 on eBay with some fast lens (35mm f/1.8, 50mm f/1.4, etc).

Unfortunately, I received my first scans this morning : All under Exposed

My settings were : Aperture priority, auto shutter speed.

1 roll of Neopan 1600 : WAY TOO DARK.

1 roll of Velvia 100 : JUST A BIT TOO DARK.

* * * See : http://photosjl.viewbook.com/firstrolls

So I guess, my meter is not working properly. (It's not the lab, I deal with the very best one in my city)

What do you guys suggest to correct this problem ?

I thought of these :

1) Overexposed manually by a stop or 2 or 3 .. ??

2) Change the ASA value to trick the meter ? (ex : set to 200 for a 400film?) .. or is it the other way around ?

3) Have the meter repaired. (It it possible in 2010 to have a 25y-o camera repaired?)

I'm lost! Please help! I want to shoot film!!

ps : Is Slide films more accurate ? (I mean, I got a better result with my Velvia)...

THANK YOU SO MUCH IN ADVANCE !

- Jean

Shooter
    35mm
    Hello Jean,

I don't think you've got a problem with your camera. The issue is probably your metering technique. The neopan shots are at night time and I think the meter has been fooled by the highlights. Likewise the Velvia shots are probably only slightly underexposed and probably on account of the bright parts fooling the meter.
    Steve.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Your meter is probably fine. It's just stupid. Have you ever used manual mode before with any success? If not it might help to bulk up on the basics and then to learn how your light meter works.