Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,056   Posts: 1,561,476   Online: 968

Thread: flash exposure

Shooter
    35mm

flash exposure

Hi,

I am a beginning photographer. Following some advice I read online, I decided to start with a Pentax ZX-M (manual focus) with a SMC-A 50/2 lens (I own no other equipment whatsoever).

The 50/2 does give me sharp pictures outdoors, however, even this fast lens is not good enough for photography indoors or at/after twilight. I don't have a tripod and even if I did, people indoors aren't going to hang around long enough for me to take a shot. So I'm forced to conclude: I need to use a flash.

However, I know nothing about flash photography. How powerful a flash do I need (i.e. what GN flash should I get)? How do I set exposure when using a flash? Can I use a shoe-mounted flash in 'fill flash' mode (like on P&S cameras) and does anyone know if the ZX-M is capable of that? What kind of flash metering is required?

Thanks for your help,
    Badri

Shooter
    127 Format
    Quote Originally Posted by badoix
    Hi,
    I know nothing about flash photography. How powerful a flash do I need (i.e. what GN flash should I get)? How do I set exposure when using a flash?
    Doing flash exposures manually is actually dead easy once you get the idea, but really intimidating (though I'll ignore fill in flash for now).

Every flash has a number - the guide number. A small flash will be about 20, while a bigger flash might go up to 45 or beyound. 20 is fine to begin with - there's no point in carrying round a huge heavy flash when you don't need it (though of course more powerfull is always more fun: "call that a flash... that's a flash!"... repeat in Ozzie accent while waving metz around).