Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,536   Posts: 1,572,735   Online: 787

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    4x5 Format

Need Help with Available Light vs. Flash

Hi! I am brand new to large format photography and have not even made my first exposure yet! I'm using an old 4x5" Anniversary Speed Graphic and I am wondering now whether I should use my "flash bulbs" 3 cell Graflite + sidelight (courteously of course ) -or- if I should try and use "Available Light".

I'll be using Tri-X 400 and shooting dimly lit interiors (some with no windows) and they will include people. These will be more or less environmental grab shots taken with permission of the shop owners and their customers.

How would you approach this problem? Looking forward to hearing from the experienced.

Thanks!

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Can you even find FP-sync flashbulbs for use with a focal plane shutter on a Speed Graphic or M-sync bulbs for use with the leaf shutter? If the shutter has a sync terminal, and it has X-sync, I'd use electronic flash if you need it.

Tri-X 400?--Not unless you're using a rollfilm back. In 4x5", you would be using TXP or the old TXT 320, but if you process in Acufine, you can get EI 640, which is what I use when I shoot handheld in available light with my Linhof 4x5". At 640, you can shoot at about 1/30 sec. at f:3.5, which is about what you need for most indoor situations.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Thanks David! Yes, I do have some Flash Bulbs. They're expensive so I don't want to waste them! I consider them a luxury item. Yes, sorry about the mistake. I think it is the 320 stuff. I like the "look" of the flash bulb more than the strobes of today.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Simplify,