Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,314   Posts: 1,536,685   Online: 875

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images

test shots for assessing exposure with 4x5 sheet film

I'm spending quite a bit of time now using my 4x5 indoors. I've managed to stay away from flashes so far. More recently, I've been photographing more elaborate interiors and flash now seems like a real possibility maybe even a necessity. I'm thinking about using instant film to help me judge proper exposure when using falsh. My prefered indoor color film is Portra 400NC, but I may decide to use 160NC with flash. I only have small portable strobes (Metz 45 and 40, as well as 2 Nikon speedlights). Not a lot of power but that's all I have I would appreciate advice on materials/procedures/tips for doing this (i.e., using instant film to test exposure), as I've never done this before.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    A flash meter and some slaves would be helpful.
    http://jeffreyglasser.com/

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    So, no need for instant film?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    There's a pretty limited selection of instant films isn't there?
    Flash meter's going to be less expensive than the film but having a print in hand is useful to see how the lighting actually looks so, use the meter to set the lights & instant film to evaluate the result.
    Heavily sedated for your protection.

Images
    Good Afternoon, Luigi,