Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,925   Posts: 1,556,788   Online: 1001

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Awaiting the passing of a loved one.

I am at a crossroads as I write this as our immediate family is gathered around expecting a grand matriarc of ours to pass ending a long and protracted suffering. She has been in hospice care for some time now and she has been deteriorating at a rapid pace but just this past Monday her oldest child left us unexpectedly and I fear that the news of his demise has excellerated her condition.

The problem I am having is that as a photographer I am wanting to record the love , respect and high regard that we hold for her. My intent is not to capitalize on her pain but to exposite those around her as the family that she has watched over and reared over the years and are now paying the respect and admiration that she deserves. The question then becomes, should I or would that be an intrusion into a somber occasion?

Joel
    Thy heart -- thy heart! -- I wake and sigh,
    And sleep to dream till day
    Of the truth that gold can never buy
    Of the bawbles that it may.

www.silverhalidephotography.com

ath
    Shooter
    35mm
    Do it, with respect, but do it. Talk to the others about it so they understand what you are after.
    Regards,
    Andreas

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Go low key. A simple manual cameral loaded with tri x pushed, etc.

Do the simple stuff. Existing light. Medium wide angle, so some dof in existing light. Zone focus, or if too dim, string length focus.

A close up of a younger one holding her hand.

A pictture of any valued photos etc, arranged by her bedside.

Make it just a sideline of your dropping by to visit.