Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,300   Posts: 1,535,806   Online: 695

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dreamy photos?

Shooter
    4x5 Format

Dreamy photos?

I'm fairly new to the world of large format photography, so I'm not sure how to diagnose my problems here. I've just started scanning the film I've been exposing and developing over the past couple months and I've noticed that some images look very sharp and clear, while others seem somehow dreamy. I'm not sure if this is a focus question, an exposure question, or what, but I'm hoping that if I post a couple images here for comparison's sake some one might have a guess at what I'm doing right/wrong.

(I have to post fairly small files because my internet connection is terribly slow, but the difference in the two photos should be clear)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Ottoman hijra small.jpg   Merjeh small.jpg  

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Blog Entries
    Difficult to tell for sure from the thumbnails, but at first look I would say it is a focus problem,Richard

Shooter
    35mm
    Focus (are you using a focusing loupe?) or perhaps movement of the camera during exposure. Judging from the arms of the fellow on the left of the dreamy shot it looks like your exposure was long enough for that to occur. Are you using a cable release?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    The second one looks like it's unevenly developed, does it not?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    sorry to ask particulars
    but do you remember the fstop
    you exposed your films at ?

sometimes wide lenses and shallow DOF
    will give this effect. judging from the dim light
    i will guess that you exposed kind of wide ( maybe f8 or more ? )
    and you had no trouble focusing on the left image ( horizontal lines make it easy )