Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,687   Posts: 1,482,351   Online: 813

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Images

going soon to shoot at night - any words of wisdom?

I'm meeting a few friends uptown (it's dark here) to try some night photography. I'm taking my Hasselblad, shooting Tri-x. I've never done this before. I have a Minolta IVF meter.

I looked first in the chatroom to see if any of you more-experienced night shooters were there, but nobody's there tonight. It's 7:30 p.m., Sat. night (1/15/11), in case anyone wants to offer advice. Or here. I'll watch for a few minutes before I leave.

I imagine lots of you know things I've not thought of yet. Thanks.

Images
    Good Evening, Janet,

1--Rock solid tripod
    2--Cable release (locking, unless your shutter has a "T" setting)
    3--flashlight
    4--watch
    5--warm clothes
    6--black card (Hold in front of lens as shutter is tripped, especially with SLR; wait for vibrations to subside; remove card for exposure.)
    7--T-Max 100 or Acros instead of Tri-X for better reciprocity response
    8--soft-working developer (Technidol, if you can find any)
    9--High boredom tolerance as minutes-long exposures take place
    10--Expectation that future trips with exposure/development fine-tuning will be required.

Good luck, and have fun.

Konical

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    EV -1 to -2 or same correction in manual.

Images
    Konical - Gosh, I wish I'd gotten this before I left for town! But for #10, this will be great. I had TMax film, but was thinking it had less latitude so didn't take it. rats. And the black card idea is a great one I never came close to thinking of on my own. I'll try that next time for sure.