Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,501   Posts: 1,571,688   Online: 941

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Infrared Film Exposure Question

Hello:
    I am new to Infrared film photography. I plan on using Rollei IR 400 film and the Hoya R72 filter. My question is that I have read several threads regarding exposure and have gleemed the following: shoot at ISO 25, at approximately 1/2 sec @ f16. My confusion is how do you meter? Do you make your TTL measurement and adjustments before putting the filter on the lens and adjusting 6 - 8 stops or do you measure TTL with filter on?

Shooter
    35mm
    Just my two cents, from what I learned from this forum, the meter can't read infrared light so if you put the filter on first and then measure TTL, it will give you an error instead. There are thing I've learned for Infrared film is: bracket, bracket, bracket, bracket.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Allen:

I've got a couple of shots here in my APUG gallery that were shot with Rollei IR 400 film and an R72 filter. Here is an example:

http://www.apug.org/gallery1/showima...imageuser=6479

In my case, I used a Mamiya TLR and a hand meter. One of my successes was metered at EI 3, while another was metered at EI 12.

It is of course difficult to determine how much IR is included in the light being measured by the meter, but it definitely does change as the light changes, so a suggested standard exposure isn't likely to work consistently - bracket instead.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails forest01d.jpg  
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2