Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,990   Posts: 1,524,178   Online: 1056

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

Embarrassing confession: I have never used a grey card. Please don't laugh.

Hi guys
    I need to get a grey card in my life somehow - I'm not a novice, I just never got around to buying one and using it - because I want to move into LF and scanning more and it will be a nightmare trying to digitally print from negs without some kind of white balance control going on.

What's the best A. way to use a grey card for the purpose of shooting and scanning, then digitally outputting, and B. grey card to get?

I'm so ashamed not to have more knowledge on this, I've only ever understood the use of grey cards in theory and not ever actually put one to use in my work.
    Will it change my life ?
    Do I need one ?
    I am presuming Yes!

cheers

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I have never used a gray card in over 50 years of photography. I guess that I have another 50 years to learn, if I need to.
    Warning!! Handling a Hasselblad can be harmful to your financial well being!

Nothing beats a great piece of glass!

I leave the digital work for the urologists and proctologists.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Holly

You don't need anything fancy, I use my hand held light meter and my hand. Gives me a skin tone, black, white, and grey.

Makes life easy for me with the color meter in the darkroom, makes life easy for my lab.

Kodak cards are available and work just fine.

If you want something fancier you might ask at a site that does digital.
    Mark Barendt, Ignacio, CO

"We do not see things the way they are. We see things the way we are." Anaïs Nin

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Blog Entries
    Images