Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,965   Posts: 1,558,402   Online: 814

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Recording exposure

I'm new at this, and I have a simple question. When you're shooting, how do you record what your exposure settings are, so you can refer back to it when you're looking at the negatives (in my case, to learn)? Is there a printed template form that you use? A memo book pre-printed with the proper information? Just a little memo pad? I haven't been able to find anything online. Help me organize this.

Thanks,

Greg Hinson

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    At one time I used one of these:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...848146221&rd=1

I now use the BZTS software for the Palm.

Jim
    "You miss 100% of the shots you don't take"...Wayne Gretzky

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hey Greg!
    I have found one of the best little tools you can ues is one of those small tape recorders. It only takes a second to 'tell' it what you are shooting, the exposure and even a wee bit about conditions. You can transcribe the info you need later at your leisure!
    Jeanette
    .................................................. ................
    Isaiah 25:1

Shooter
    35mm
    I tried using a voice activated recorder but I found it hard to sit down and transfer my babbling into useful readable information. I also found that I wasn't very aware of which details I was noting and thus didn't always record all the information I could have used.

I now use a small memo book, which fits into the pocket on my camera bag.

Here's a short sample of what I write:

10/10/04
    Kodak Gold 100
    Louisville Swamp
    1:46 PM

Clear skies, bright sun, no haze. 29-100mm

Twin Trees - trees are roughly 30' apart. @50mm
    27) 250 f/11 (noted the angle of the sun in relation to the subject)