Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,517   Posts: 1,572,189   Online: 1105

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

How Old Is Too Old For Colour Paper and Processing Chems

I'm relatively new to developing and printing, restricting myself to b&w to this point. However when I acquired through fleabay a job lot of developing/processing equipment it included amongst other things four colour processing kits and some 11 x 14 and 8 x 10 colour paper, all out of date and I'm wondering if I am wasting my time even opening the packets. How old is too old?? The chems have never been opened, some of the paper has been opened, I can't vouch for how they have been stored.

Here are the details:

Photo Paper
    Kodak Supra III, date written on boxes 23/11/04 (assume purchase date)

Processing Chems
    Agfa AP 94 (RA-4)Kit, date on kits 5/8/2005

thanks

Colin

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Well if one of the developer bottles is closer to black instead of clear, it's dead. The clear fixer part of the blix will throw sulfur if it's dead.
    Bob

Shooter
    35mm
    Regarding paper, I'm using the last of my boxes of Endura dated April 2011 and the paper is going slightly cream in the borders. It's most noticeable when you place the paper next to something pure white. I quite like it, or maybe more accurately, I like it more than I like the wafer thin Fuji paper.

I've found that Kodak chems go bad around two years after purchase, colour developer B seems to be the most sensitive.
    Steve.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob-D659 View Post
    Well if one of the developer bottles is closer to black instead of clear, it's dead. The clear fixer part of the blix will throw sulfur if it's dead.