Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,536   Posts: 1,544,232   Online: 731

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

Question about taking equipment to China

A co-worker just found out that he's on his way to China in a few weeks. I asked if he was taking a camera, and he asked me if he'd have any problems taking his gear into China with him.

I have to admit that I don't know the answer to that question. My gut told me that there would be no problems taking any kind of camera equipment into China, but then I remembered discovering that I cannot travel to Malaysia because of a prescription medicine that I have to take. I didn't want to give him information that would ultimately lead him to making an expensive mistake...I have no knowledge of whether he needs any sort of permit, purchase records, or anything else to take his gear with him.

Thanks in advance for your help.
    Dave
    Film is cheap. Opportunities are priceless.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I have taken everything from my F4 to my Hassey, with all sorts of lenses into China. No probs.

Regards, Art.
    Visit my website at www.ArtLiem.com
    or my online portfolios at APUG and ModelMayhem

Shooter
    35mm
    Most of the time, if your going to have trouble traveling internationally with camera gear, it is upon your return to the US. If customs believes you may have purchased your gear abroad, they will try to charge you duty on it. To avoid this get form CF 4457 from a customs office, document your gear and have them stamp it.

Shooter
    4x5 Format