Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,772   Posts: 1,516,553   Online: 958

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    ath
    Shooter
    35mm

Myanmar / Birma / Burma

Hello,

in November I will travel to Myanmar. I've never been to Asia before, but I have plenty of experience travelling with film in South America (Argentina, Chile, Peru, Bolivia).

Basically I have two questions:
    1. any problems/experience with film in hand luggage in Myanmar? The flight will be Frankfurt (no problem) - Singapore (no problem?) - Langon (Rangoon) and two domestic flights in Myanmar.

2. any tips regarding photography in Myanmar? This will be a guided tour visiting Langon, Bagan, Mandalay, Inle lake, Kalaw. Hotels and transportation are fixed but there is plenty of personal time. As usual I plan to use Kodak Elitechrome 100 slide film, a 28-75/2.8 and 70-200/4 zoom along with my EOS50 or EOS3.

Thanks for your input.
    Last edited by ath; 07-22-2010 at 06:18 AM. Click to view previous post history.
    Regards,
    Andreas

Shooter
    Multi Format
    1) I don't see any problems taking film with you. Burmese authorities have nothing against tourists taking holiday shots but you should not take photos of anything military or even police etc.
    2) If it's a guided tour they'll show you everything so just take a LOT of film. You might want to take a flash too as it can be very dark inside pagodas and other constructions.

Bagan is a dream destination so make sure to be on top of a pagoda when the sun sets. Mandalay itself is a mess but there are a lot of nice historical places around it. Burma in general is very beautiful, almost untouched. Burmese people in general like to be photographed so no problems there either. Be prepared to the fact that you cannot buy any photo gear inside Burma. No film, no batteries, absolutely nothing.

ath
    Shooter
    35mm