Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,950   Posts: 1,585,958   Online: 924

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Francesca Woodman and the burden of art...

I'm quite surprised to have only just discovered this young photographer, who tragically took her life at 22 leaving behind some remarkable work. In many ways her photographs are almost proto-Flickr. That adolescent female obsession with moody self-portraits that's become an all too familiar trademark here. Of course, Francesca Woodman's work is somewhat more expressive and mature - in the artistic sense and in terms of craft.

I'm just beginning to look at her work, but after reading quite a few articles on her, I have to admit being more fascinated by her story. It's one of pushy parents and art becoming more important than life.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=qu9LSFFnn54

If anyone has seen it and knows of her work, I'd be interested to hear your thoughts. Also, if anyone could let me know where I could watch it, that would be a bonus!

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    I started a thread on the Large Format Photography Forum a few weeks ago on the show PBS is/was showing called 'The Woodmans'. People seemed to have pretty strong feelings about it all. The show is also available on Netflix if it is no longer on PBS. I liked the show, cringed at the parents and thought Francesca's work was pretty interesting. Seemed to me that if the parent's weren't so self-obsessed, they would have known their daughter was headed for trouble. But the fact that the family profited so much from her suicide was troubling.

Richard

Shooter
    Medium Format