Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,301   Posts: 1,536,138   Online: 860

Shooter
    Multi Format

time or VAPUG.ORG?

Vintage Analog Photography Users Group.
    Jim Gali might become the first member of honour.

I'm only getting this into the ballpark because of some recent threads and/or images in the galleries.

Some people like old lenses, cameras, enlargers... but sometimes I really can't appreciate the quality of the result produced with vintage equipment.

I'm not trying to condemn the use of old equipment or people who use it (got several 1900 lenses myself). I was a professional flute player (in a former life...) and was (still am) interested in 18th and 19th century instruments with 1 up to 9 of more keys, but my maine concern has always been: can we get better results that what was possible at the time the vintage item was produced?

Keep shooting, starting as from now.

fact #1: it's just great fun using those items. (as I do)

G

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Wooden flute, silver flutes, gold flutes... amplified flutes.
    Ancient music played with contemporary technique. The possibilities are endless.

The parallels are exact between music and photography.

I prefer the sound of a wooden flute. I like english horns. Baroque fiddles. I use vintage lenses with contemporary technique to make a clear and rich picture ( I hope ) without a 'commercial look' unavoidable - to my eye - with new lens designs.

. It's all one.

But VAPUG ? Oh, dear.

"One of the painful things about our time is that those who feel certainty are stupid,
    and those with any imagination and understanding are filled with doubt and indecision"

-Bertrand Russell

Shooter
    127 Format