Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,960   Posts: 1,523,098   Online: 999

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

shoooting mindframe

So, I am a new photographer, and I was wondering what you guys do as far as mental prep to get in a state of mind in which you can "see" an opportunity for an exposure that goes beyond just a photo/snapshot. I have had a handful of shots that were pretty good. Dramatic lines, good composition, whatever. A few were by design, but most were lucky. What advice do you folks have regarding getting in tune with my sense of perception so that I can look at a print and say "that is good, and it is exactly what I wanted to happen." I want to look through my viewfinder and see a print. I would be greatful for anything you guys have.
    Thanks!
    Jason

Images
    Put your camera down and wander around the area exploring with a viewing card.

Close your eyes and tune into what your other senses are reporting.

Open your eyes briefly, then close them again. Try to remember what you saw. Open them again and see what the most dominant aspect of the scene was. Zero in on that.

Take notes. Written is better. Write down what you are seeing and feeling. Take mental notes if you forget your pencil.

Don't worry about making pictures. Just be there.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images