Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,719   Posts: 1,514,854   Online: 900

Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm RF

Journalistic integrity

What do other forum members understand by the term 'journalistic integrity'?

I am understandably interested because of what I do for a living...

Cheers,

Roger (www.rogerandfrances.com)

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    So what do you so for a living ? Are you an Integritor ? :-)

Well, all I know about "journalistic integrity" is that when I was writing tech articles about photography in a magazine, there was huge pressure from the importers (camera, other) to the Editor so that he would take care not to show their products to be "bad" in the tests. I was a good guy, though and things happened with my articles, sometimes. Like the once I did the test for Hasselblad's H-1 and wrote that it's an OK camera, but too pricey (compared it to the other 6x4,5s and to the Rollei 6008 that also takes a 6x4,5 back)... The importer wanted to kill me and stopped giving ads to the magazine for a long time... Well, as you can imagine the magazine kissed good-bye the journalistic integrity and I stopped (by my own free will) writing camera tests.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Dear George,

That's my feeling too. Integrity is specific to the journalist. It consists of telling the truth as you see it -- and refusing to allow your material to be published if the editor is trying to make you lie in order to please the advertisers, publisher, or anyone else who doesn't agree with you.

Magazines and newspapers have no inherent integrity: only what they can pass on from their journalists. An editor with integrity may decide to kill a story if it would be commercial suicide to run it, but will never change a story just to pander to people.

Cheers,

Roger

Shooter
    Med. Format RF