Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,911   Posts: 1,521,600   Online: 887

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Just Assaulted by someone for taking sunset photos

I was just shooting sunset photos about 1/4 mile from my house with my Mamiya 645 when someone, who lives nearby, came over to me. He told me I was casing his house to break in. I told him I lived on Sombrero Loop, just a block away from his house. He still wouldn't listen. I told him I was an engineer and photographed to sell prints at the art fairs in the North Valley. He told me, "oh yeah, I'm Jesus Christ." He threatened to break my camera. He then threatened to kill me, and promised that my wife would never find my body. He then had his wife call 911 to "have me arrested for taking pictures." He attempted to restrain me but I broke away and ran home. His house is located on Edith just outside Albuquerque city limits.

Background: I was standing on Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District Property. This is a municipal corporation that distributes water to land owners via a network of irrigation ditches with road levies. I was standing in the middle of a road levy. I walk my dogs through this route nearly every day, often bringing one of my cameras along. I have taken some beautiful photos of old cottonwood trees, sunsets, clouds, and landscapes here in Alameda. He claims he has never seen me. He has an Australian Shepard just like mine. I can't believe he hasn't seen me in seven years.

My wife and girls were just ahead of me with both our dogs, I stayed behind to shoot the sunset and cloud formation after a thunderstorm in the area. If my dogs had been with me they would have attacked him.
    I'll make sure I have them with me from now on.

Doug

"shook up but not discouraged from photographing"