Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,693   Posts: 1,482,469   Online: 948

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: People Pictures

I am about ready to set up a simple website. I have a lot of pictures of people from over the years...some at work, some taken on the street, etc. Mostly, the faces are identifiable.

Do I need model releases for pictures that will be on my personal website? It will not be commercial, and I don't intend to make the file sizes big enough to be printable with any quality.

What's my liability?

Thanks!

dgh
    David G Hall

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

I'm not a lawyer or pro photog, but I've heard it said many times that the law is that if someone is out in public, it is not illegal to use their images for editorial purposes. I think the model release applies if you're trying to make money off of their images rather than present information (a la journalism, story, newspaper, etc).

So I would say it depends upon your intended use. I hope I won't get yelled at for using the "p" word, but photo.net has tons of info and opinions on this topic.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I don't think you need to worry about model release forms for publishing people photographs on a personal website. For what it is worth, I do quite a lot of people photography wherever I go and have published many of them in magazine articles in both the UK and US. To date I've not had any problems and it is also significant that the publishing companies concerned have never raised a query which seems to agree with Brian's comment.
    "Digital circuits are made from analogue parts"
    Fourtune Cookie-Brooklyn May 2006