Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,301   Posts: 1,536,105   Online: 840

Page 1 of 8 1234567 ... LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

The Academic Perspective?

The "Ethics & Philosophy" discussions we have sometimes steer towards problems that scholars deal with, and sometimes I'm tempted to bring in some articles to support a point or another. I don't know if that's actually useful or a deterrent to discussion.

My own status regarding the academic world is that I'm in it. I am writing an MA thesis on graphic novels and literature, and I'm thinking about a PhD in something related, so I read quite a bit of stuff on images, literature, aesthetics, and the like. I'm not an expert, but I have a direct interest in relating what I read on the academic side with issues in photography ethics, aesthetics, etc.

I think we're primarily interested in making photography, but I would like to know whether you have any scholarly experience about it, and whether you find it makes any difference in your work. I'm also interested by the point of view of those who are not in the scholarly world, and how they perceive it.
    Using film since before it was hip.

"One of the most singular characters of the hyposulphites, is the property their solutions possess of dissolving muriate of silver and retaining it in considerable quantity in permanent solution" — Sir John Frederick William Herschel, "On the Hyposulphurous Acid and its Compounds." The Edinburgh Philosophical Journal, Vol. 1 (8 Jan. 1819): 8-29. p. 11

My APUG Portfolio

AgX

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I’m not a scholar but it is interesting to sniff a bit the scents of academic hallways this way…