Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,755   Posts: 1,515,981   Online: 903

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Creativity vs techicality; M vs P ... and film

I seem to have fallen into the trap of becoming obsessed too much with the technical part of photography (the right exposure etc.), neglecting the creativity and the artistic part of photography.

I'm not too surprised by that since I'm a bit introvert software developer and I enjoy understanding (and controlling) machinery.

So, for the last couple of years I've been mostly shooting on full manual with partial metering (mostly on digital, as I rediscovered film only recently), thinking it was very important (and it is to some extent, as digital is easily blown out).

But then I found this book: "Photography - the art of composition" by Bert Krages. I quite like it, because it covers my weaker photography skills: visual skills, composition, creativity.

So I've been doing the exercises from the book with BW film, at first my usual, full manual metering. But then I found out about the latitude of film compared to digital and I decided to try doing the exercises on full auto: P and A mode with average metering, no correction, just taking care that aperture / shutter suites my needs.

Oh boy. I must say, it felt great. I was just letting my creative process take its way, photographing what I found interesting or waiting for the right moment. The latter is quite important, as I take a lot of photos of my little baby girl.