Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,912   Posts: 1,521,641   Online: 1017

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images

Digital seems to have killed the photographer in me....

I am a professional image maker... portraits, commercial work, products.
    I have never done anything too "glamourous" just good solid work. I have shot a couple national/global campaigns for Stanley tools. (Billed as a local job... but that is another story).

I have lost the "flow". Shooting... opening packages of processed chromes.
    A regular trip into the darkroom each or every other day. Late afternoon processing and early morning printing for deadline.

There is just no joy in sitting at the computer sorting over-shot assignments because digital exposures cost you only time. The darkroom was like a church. The only distraction it offered me was the jazz on the radio, or the occasional phone call.

Editing and "processing" in the digital arena is punctuated by constant e-mails, phone calls, and the distraction of APUG and Facebook.

Perhaps I need to build a digital processing "Lightroom", where it is the business of photography only? I have tried... the flow of work from wet to dry, from unwrapping film to cutting, to culling the bad exposures down to a select 8 that the customer asked for. Darkroom work was active and regulated by the clock, and so unforgiving!! Digital is too forgiving. Throw away and image...sometimes it can be retrieved. No more color balance... grey balance with a little eyedropper.

I am going back to what actually feels like work now... not a magical alchemy of light and molecules.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images