Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,745   Posts: 1,515,653   Online: 755

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images

Roland Barthes// Camera lucida.

This is a good book... I have been digesting it off and on for a couple years.
    Anyone wish to have a civil conversation about it?
    You need to read the book to participate.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camera_Lucida_(book)

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    I haven't read it in a few years, but I remember he had very interesting philosophical concepts regarding the interpretation of symbols. If I can find my copy I will brush up and discuss it with you.
    www.gregorytdavis.com

Did millions of people suddenly disappear? This may have an answer.

"No one knows that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father." -Matthew 24:36

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    I'd be up for this too - I referenced the book for my dissertation on 'found' photography. I've just been through my storage boxes and found my copy.

Tony
    regards,

Tony

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Cool... class is in session.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I read it in the '90s and thought it excellent. Just pulled out my copy a week or two back for another read.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I have always felt terrible about it, but I've tried three times to read it and it's put me to sleep in 10 minutes each time. Maybe I'll try again...zzzZzzzzZzzzzz.
    "There is a time and place for all things, the difficulty is to use them only in their proper time and places." -- Robert Henri

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Many years since I read it but my recollection was of meandering and sentimental writing which I found hard to stay connected with at times. Maybe it was better in the French.