Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,914   Posts: 1,521,755   Online: 1064

Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Mamiya M645 shutter trouble...

Hi all

I am very new to medium format cameraes and a week ago I bought a Mamiya M645 with a Sekor 80mm 2,8 for the right price.

The problem is that when I picked it up, I never inspected the shutter mechanism visually, I just advanced the film, pressed the shutter release and it made the "right" sound.

The result was that the first film I shot came out unexposed, so I took off the lens and the film cartridge and discovered that the shutter curtain does not open. It stays closed when I depress the shutter release button.

My question is: is this a major problem (expensive to repair) or is it something that a local camerarepairshop can repair?

If it is a small unexpensive repair I will do it and never involve the seller, but if it is expensive I will have to go to the seller and demand my money back.

Please advice!

Thanks

Stein Andre Hovden
    Oslo, Norway

Thanks for

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Hello;
    If you bought this as a working camera, I would not hesitate taking it back. Even a simple repair can be costly. Did you check the battery on this? The film insert needs to in the camera with the take up spool in place for operation. Checking with the lens off sounds good, Steven.

Shooter
    35mm
    Without film in the camera the M645 shutter won't operate unless the Multi-Exposure Lever is set to "Multi." Additionally, with film in the camera, the film won't advance unless that lever is moved away from "Multi."

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images
    Bob has a good suggestion, plus make sure you loaded the film correct through the rollers, do you have the manual?
    Andy

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Hi and thanks for your answers/suggestions