Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,000   Posts: 1,524,341   Online: 764

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Quick Question About 120 Film

Hey everyone. I am a newbie when it comes to shooting film. I recently bought a holga and have a roll of 120 in there now. I was wondering if 120 film has a leader such as 35mm. I am wondering because I was going to do the strip of film in the fixer test to determine my fix time and also find out when the fixer has exhausted. But since i am a college student and cutting up a fresh roll of film seems like a crime, i would much rather take a leader off the roll I am currently shooting while I am loading it into my developing tank. but does 120 film have a leader? and if so will i be able to tell where it is in the dark? exact film I am using is ilford delta 400. and i will be using ilford rapid fixer. thanks.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    No, no leaders. Beginning of the film is cut square and taped to the backing paper. The frame 1 starts about half an inch from there.
    Develop, stop, fix.... wait.... where's my film?

JLP
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    There's no leader on 120 roll film but you can cut an inch of easily before you load the film on the spool for development and use that for your fix test.
    Do cut it before you insert the film to your spool for developing as there are very little left in the other end if you have 12 exposures on the roll.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images