Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,049   Posts: 1,561,076   Online: 793

Shooter
    Multi Format

KEH Repair pat on the back

I sent a cosmetically and optically mint but very shutter-sick RB67 65mm/4.5 C to KEH Repair for a CLA, and received it back today (2 weeks turnaround, $130). I measured the before and after-CLA shutter speeds (with a laptop and light-sensor type shutter tester that I have a lot of experience using and have come to trust, at least for speeds 1/500 and under). Here are the actual speeds I recorded for this lens (times rounded to approximate fractions of a second):

Before CLA After CLA
    1 sec .94 (.9 sec) .89 (.9 sec)
    1/2 .60 (1/6 sec) .51 (1/2 sec)
    1/4 .37 (1/3 sec) .27 (1/4 sec)
    1/8 .24 (1/4 sec) .15 (1/6 sec)
    1/15 .12 (1/8 sec) .057 (1/17 sec)
    1/30 .10 (1/10 sec) .0296 (1/33 sec)
    1/60 .08 (1/12 sec) .0162 (1/62 sec)
    1/125 .072 (1/14 sec) .0087 (1/115 sec)
    1/250 .063 (1/16 sec) .0047 (1/213 sec)
    1/400 .044 (1/23 sec) .0033 (1/303 sec)

The shutter on this lens also had the all-too-common "Seiko Shelf" disease (probably as a result of sitting in a closet for years and years in a cocked condition) so was acting like it was in "T" mode all the time. It now looks and works like new (the 1/300 is good enough for me, since I suspect no RB67 Seiko leaf shutter has ever hit an honest 1/400 except maybe when brand new, assuming the shutter's other speeds were approximately correct). I now have a "new" 65mm for my trusty old RB. I thought I'd pass along a pat on the back to KEH's repair shop, since we are all too ready to flame a shop for bad work (and that's fine), but often don't bother to say something on the other side of the coin. I have another lens or two I'm going to send KEH now that that one went well.