Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,872   Posts: 1,583,449   Online: 1177

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Seeking Yashica 124g advice, rely on internal meter?

To All:

I am taking a long anticipated trip to Korea next month and I will be bringing a Yashicamat 124g that I specifically purchased for the occasion. I have many years experience with Rolleiflex cameras, but they have risen up so much in value that I didn't want to worry about as we move about the countryside on public transit. I will be shooting Kodak Ektar color negative film and a variety of black and white film including Agfapan 100 and T-Max 400. I have tested the Yashica's built-in meter and it seems remarkably accurate. However, I am more familiar with hand metering, either with a Sekonic incident meter or a Gossen Luna-Pro. I don't really have room to take something along "just in case" so should I rely on the camera's internal meter or take along the tried and true? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Garet

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I would take the hand meter, because as you say it is "tried and true". The built-in meter would then be there as a backup in case of emergency.
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Welcome to APUG Garet.

The meter in my Yashica 124 is surprisingly accurate but I prefer to use a hand held meter usually a Luna Pro, or one of my spotmeters mainly because I've usually got an LF camera with me as well.

Ian

Shooter
    Multi Format