Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 74,531   Posts: 1,645,786   Online: 1061

Shooter
    35mm

Can't release shutter once Len attached hasselblad 500cw

I am new to using a Hasselblad 500cw. The shutter works fine when the lens is not attached. But when I attach the lens I can't release the shutter. I have cocked the lens and the camera, I can attach and remove the Len with no problems. When I remove the lens I can release the shutter. I haven't been able to release the shutter on the lens manually. It is a new lens and I am not sure if I am doing something wrong or if there is a problem with the Len

Thank

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    What lens? What shutter setting/speed?

On the CF and later lenses there's a little green* button at the left end of the shutter speed scale, with a green letter F to its right.
    You must depress the button to move the speed setting to or from the F position. If it's in that position, the shutter is open and the release linkage is locked.
    That setting is only used with bodies that have focal-plane shutters. It's not used, nor usable, with your camera.

Can you release the lens shutter manually, with the lens off the camera?
    1. Set the shutter speed to some slow value, like 1/15, so its operation will be obvious.
    2. Look at the back of the lens in its normal position, with the drive slot at the bottom.
    3. Note the position of the drive slot. It should be aligned with the red dot to its left. (If not, execute steps 6 & 7 below, then continue here.)
    4. Note the little pin just right of the drive slot, inside a small metal collar with the upper half missing. The pin is the shutter release.
    5. Gently press this pin down. You can use the end of a pen. The shutter should release.