Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,223   Posts: 1,532,521   Online: 1127

Shooter
    Medium Format

Mamiya 645 N series lens dust advice?

Hi Folks,

I just bought a Mamiya 645N series 45mm lens. I'm new to medium format.

On receipt and inspection of the lens it looks like new showroom condition with no exterior wear whatsoever.

Upon examining the glass there are two things. There seems to be some dust inside the lens which appears as almost clear.

More importantly there are also two little black specs which are thin , symmetrical and rectangular (not organic...perhaps paint specs?) and are different from the other stuff that I perceive as dust.

The 2 black specs are very noticeable when looking up close onto a white surface through the glass.

My question is how much would this affect the photograph? Particularly when I photograph outdoors with lots of blue sky?

I can return this lens if needed. Advice greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by BennyK; 04-27-2012 at 02:47 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Small particles such as you’ve described have no effect on the image projected onto the film. If you have small particles of opaque black material inside, those are most likely flakes of the dull, black light-absorbing coating applied to the inside of the lens barrel and are of no consequence, not even when photographing a light colored area.

If you’re uncomfortable with the particles inside the lens and can return it, you should do so and find one that’s satisfactory.

We discussed this about 2009 or 2010 or so in a thread entitled something like “Black Specs on Lens”. Unfortunately, due to the ongoing server issues that thread isn’t currently accessible so I can’t provide a link at this time.

CGW

Shooter
    Medium Format